Henry David Thoreau Quotes

Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you have imagined. ◘  Henry David Thoreau 

If one advances confidently in the direction of his dreams, and endeavors to live the life which he has imagined, he will meet with success unexpected in common hours. ◘ Henry David Thoreau 

Government never furthered any enterprise but by the alacrity with which it got out of its way. ◘ Henry David Thoreau
Any man more right than his neighbors constitutes a majority of one. ◘ Henry David Thoreau
The law will never make men free; it is men who have got to make the law free. They are the lovers of law and order, who observe the law when the government breaks it. ◘ Henry David Thoreau
If I knew for certain that a man was coming to my house to do me good, I would run for my life. ◘ Henry David Thoreau
I quietly declare war with the State, after my fashion, though I will still make what use and get what advantage of her I can, as is usual in such cases. ◘ Henry David Thoreau
There will never be a really free and enlightened State until the State comes to recognize the individual as a higher and independent power, from which all its own power and authority are derived, and treats him accordingly. ◘ Henry David Thoreau
Under a government which imprisons any unjustly, the true place for a just man is also a prison. ◘ Henry David Thoreau
If a man does not keep pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him step to the music which he hears, however measured or far away. ◘  Henry David Thoreau
The State never intentionally confronts a man’s sense, intellectual or moral, but only his body, his senses. It is not armed with superior wit or honesty, but with superior physical strength. I was not born to be forced.◘  Henry David Thoreau
The authority of government … can have no pure right over my person and my property but what I concede to it. ◘ Henry David Thoreau
As for Doing-good, that is one of the professions which are full. Moreover, I have tried it fairly, and, strange as it may seem, am satisfied that it does not agree with my constitution. ◘  Henry David Thoreau
What does education often do? It makes a straight cut ditch of a free meandering brook. ◘ Henry David Thoreau

     Be true to your work, your word, and    your friend. 
      ◘  Henry David Thoreau

Leave a Reply

